Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 15th, 2010

It is the second day of the Lunar New Year and I spent it with my in-laws and husband at his rich aunt’s ultra-big, ultra-spacious mansion at Toh Drive. Lunch was an endless serving of delectable vegetable curry chockful piled shamelessly with ingredients and my favourite Tih Kar Bee Hoon (Pork Trotters Fried Bee Hoon). Everyone was happy. Everyone was full.

And then the older folks decide to get down to a table of gambling ritual every CNY as they always do. And the young people (the cousins) such as my husband and I, together with my father-in-law, got down to watching a re-run of Ratatouille on the aunt’s 60-inch LCD flat TV.

I’ll get to the point here: my husband and I parted with his relatives when his cousin had to drive out for another round of visiting. We took the chance to hitched the long, hot ride out of the forsaken place. The nearest civilisation was Tampines central where aircon fills the sweet air and dries our sticky sweat. I did some little shopping and my husband excused himself for an urgent shit. I have mentioned in an earlier post that my husband is extremely predictable and he has zero sense of romantism. If he tries to plan a surprise, somehow I would guessed it right away. But I was so wrong that day. I should have suspected that long toilet visit. I shouldn’t have shopped so much so I could have waited outside at the gents for him. During my husband’s ‘long visit’ to the gents, he was actually at Courts getting me a new digital camera. My current camera was a little faulty; just some knockings on it would do the trick. Little did I realise that my husband had noticed the fault as much as a month back (he’s usually not the observant type) and made it his little plan to save up and get me something expensive. My husband usually never spend on anything more than $300 on me on anything material, partly because if he wanted I would have already stopped him from lashing out so much money.

So at Swensons when he surprised me with the gift, I was dumbfounded. I totally never call for this that I thought it was a joke. The first thing that blurted out of me was “Ya ya, don’t kid me.” I thought it was some empty box he fished out of a trash bin to pull a prank on me. As I remained shell shocked, reality slowly spelt its story. My husband did indeed forked out that huge sum of money in one seating to buy me a new camera, something that I hoped for but didn’t longed for.

Just this month of February alone he had splurged a couple of hundreds on me. First weekend was a high ended $89 Panasonic hairdryer, the following weekend was my all-time, much coveted Phillips Satin Ice Epilator at $170. The latter is a gadget I longed for 10 over years to get especially when I first read about it on Her World. Back then, it was too expensive for my budget, and now that I have the money, I procrastinated if spending $170 in one seating on body hair removal is worth it. My ex-BFF bragged about owning one, and now I have IT in my hands for good. Best of all, hubby got me the most expensive model, the epilator with the self charging in-built battery that I could go cordless with ease during epilation.

This week alone, its the new digital camera with better improved functions than my previous set.
I’m still at pleasant shock that almost once in MANY years, my husband got me unawares and off guard.

Read Full Post »