Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 7th, 2010

I felt so kuku entering Santiago Bridal Studio today on my very first visit for gown fitting. Clumsy and frumpy, I tripped over the many big, ballooning layers of poufy gowns on that day despite help from the wedding coordinator who made 90% of the work an ease. I can’t imagine ever visiting the loo in these gowns. How on earth can any woman wear that on her wedding day and smile so sweetly as if the 15kg of cloth is like a second skin to her?

It was also quite a downer that I am not able to wear some of the nice gowns because of my plumpish size. Those nicer, sleek gowns comes in S size, suitable for most slim brides. Nonetheless, I just took whatever was available for my 62kg frame. The bare back, criss crossed designs made me look like a wrapped ham from the back. The bustier tops gave me the silhouette of a sumo wrestler and the unsightly, uneven tan lines on my arms didn’t helped either.

Oh, whatever! I just went with the flow and picked the best from the limited variety of gowns for plump women. Not every bride-to-be are reed thin or have figures equivalent of a supermodel. Santiago could do well with more selections in their bridal gowns for plus sized ladies. Usually when you visit a bridal studio booth (very commonly their road shows are found at popular shopping malls’ exhibition grounds), the sales staff would display all their impressive photography works and albums with supermodel-like ‘customers’ in pretty bridal gowns. But n0thing is mentioned that the gown selection for plus sized ladies are limited. Lucky that I’m not a picky person because I just make do (as I always do in other situations in life) with whatever frumpy gowns they have at hand for plus sizes. Had it been for the elephant SO, she would scream at the staff and create a ruckus in the shop. What a pig pretending to be a swan.

Sure, I could lose the excess weight for the next few months climbing up to my photography session in May and my wedding in September but that is beside the point. I’m quite peeved that bridal sales staff do not make known beforehand to plus sized customers that the gown selections for plus sizes are limited. Regardless of how good their photography is, if the gown sucks, the whole picture sucks.

As such, it is back to the beauty regime of whitening creams for my feet, legs and especially arms as of tonight onwards…. and heavy dieting and exercising to lose the excess flabs. *SIGH*~~

Read Full Post »